Friday, 21 August 2015

Guest Post - Rachael Richey's Thoughts About Cornwall - Cornish Week

I'm delighted to welcome Rachael Richey, author of the NightHawk to my blog and to my Cornish Week. She has written about her thoughts on Cornwall, where she lives.

My first experience of Cornwall was as a tomboy twelve year old, going there on holiday with my best friend and her family.  They owned a little cottage right down near Land’s End, and we spent a brilliant week climbing on rocks, jumping over waves and generally getting sandy and sunburnt.  It was great fun and I really fell in love with the place.  Over the years I went back there on holiday many times, and when I introduced it to my husband nearly twenty years ago, he fell in love with it too.

We finally moved to Cornwall at the end of 2000, when our second child was just six months old, and since then have discovered so many more exciting parts of the county.

In both Storm Rising and Rhythm of Deceit, the heroine Abi lives in Sennen which is the most wonderful long white sandy beach near Land’s End.  It’s probably still my favourite place in Cornwall and we’ve spent many happy hours playing there.

My three other favourite places in Cornwall are Polridmouth Cove, where Daphne du Maurier had a cottage, and which she used as the location for Rebecca’s boathouse; Boscastle, and St Ives. 

I can guarantee that anyone visiting Cornwall will fall in love with it.

Author Bio

Rachael Richey lives in Cornwall with her husband and children. She writes Women's Fiction, and Storm Rising is the first book in the NightHawk Series. She has been writing since she was a child, starting with stories about her teddy bears and dolls. 

She lived in the Hebrides for nearly fourteen years, having originally gone there to work for the summer season. She met and married her husband David whilst there, and had two children, before moving to Cornwall at the end of 2000. 

There are currently four titles in The NightHawk Series.  The first, Storm Rising was published in February, 2015, and the second, Rhythm of Deceit was published at the end of July, 2015.  

Facebook | Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon author page UK | Amazon author page US

Storm Rising - NightHawk Book 1

Frontman of the grunge rock band NightHawk, Gideon Hawk has had enough of the rock star life. He is jaded, disillusioned, and haunted by the memory of an unresolved heartbreak. On a whim, he leaves the band in New York and heads to England in search of answers.

After attending the funeral of her estranged mother, Abigail Thomson makes a shocking discovery in her parents’ attic. The still-raw memories that surface, along with even more startling discoveries, force Abi to face a devastating truth that leads to a series of life-changing events. She and Gideon must race against time to reclaim the life stolen from them a decade before.

Purchase Links

Amazon UK | Amazon US  | The Wild Rose Press

Rhythm of Deceit - NightHawk Book 2

Two years after finally being reunited, Abigail Thomson and Gideon Hawk are happily married and living in Cornwall with their children.

While Gideon is busy focusing his energies on his musical career, Abi makes an unexpected discovery of old diaries dating from 1950. As she and her daughter read through them, the reasons behind Abi’s mother’s destructive actions become much clearer, and they discover a shocking sixty-year-old deception.

Meanwhile, Simon Dean, the vengeful ex-drummer of Gideon’s band NightHawk, is about to make life very difficult for them all—again—and he is prepared to go to desperate lengths to achieve his goals.

Purchase Links

Amazon UK | Amazon US  | The Wild Rose Press

Thank you so much Rachael for your thoughts in Cornwall. Next time I'm in the area I will try to check out your favourite places. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...