Friday, 26 July 2019

Book Review - Sisters of Willow House by Susanne O'Leary - Blog Tour

The Amazon Purchase link below is an Amazon Affiliate link.
Amazon UK
Title: Sisters of Willow House
Author: Susanne O'Leary
Format reviewed: Ebook
Source: Netgalley
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: 26th July 2019
Rating: 4 Stars


Roisin McKenna and her husband Cian are taking time apart. Unsure of what she wants, Roisin’s prayers are answered when she receives a call from her sister Maeve who is desperate for her help.

Roisin heads to Sandy Cove to help Maeve restore their aunt’s gorgeous tumbledown mansion Willow House and soon all she has time to focus on are its crumbling walls. Despite a shocking announcement from Maeve and hidden secrets in the house’s rafters, Roisin begins to feel a sense of self she’s been missing for years.

The ties that bind Roisin to her husband seem to be unfurling in the Irish wind, when she unexpectedly stumbles into a mysterious man on the beach. Suddenly, she’s swept up in the idea of another life she could lead…

The restoration may have brought the sisters back together, but as a storm rolls over the coast Roisin feels sure she must make a choice. Will her time at Willow House teach her the precious lessons she needs to return home or has the cove called to her in ways she’d never imagined it could?

Fans of Sheila O’Flanagan, Debbie Macomber and Mary Alice Monroe will be swept away by Sandy Cove.

It was lovely to return to Willow House and catch up with what has been happening with Maeve since the previous book. 

However the thrust of this book was the story between Roisin, Maeve's sister and Cian and how they are going to adjust to a new phase in their life.   Their children are at boarding school, they have sold their joint business and come into an inheritance but things just seem awkward between them. 

I really didn't have many feelings towards Cian at all, although key to the story he was also barely in most of the book.  He had bought a camper van and gone off around the coast of Ireland in it with his best friend, while Roisin moves down to Sandy Cove to help Maeve with the renovations to Willow House. 

So that all seems simple enough, married couple having an agreed break to discover new things about themselves, however things in fiction and in real life never go quiet according to plan, and there are other temptations at play. 

I loved seeing Roisin arguing with the Kerry builders and trying to get building work to progress on Willow House.  I also really enjoyed seeing the sister's dynamic up close - and this book is set a few years after the events of the previous one. 

It can though easily be read as a standalone without much problem, as the main characters are different.  

This is another enjoyable story from Susanne O'Leary, and I loved getting to know just what makes the area of Kerry in Ireland so different from the rest of the country! 

Thank you to Bookouture for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily, 

Please follow along with the rest of the tour. 


No comments:

Post a comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...