Thursday, 12 October 2017

Book Review - Her Last Secret by Barbara Copperthwaite

Amazon UK
Title: Her Last Secret
Author: Barbara Copperthwaite
Format reviewed: Ebook
Source: Netgalley
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: 13th October 2017
Rating: 5 Stars


Some secrets you can never tell.

Everyone thinks the Thomases are the perfect family: grand London house, gorgeous kids.

They don’t know wife Dominique is a paranoid wreck.

They don’t know husband Ben is trapped in a web of deceit.

They don’t know daughter Ruby lives in fear of the next abusive text.

But someone knows all their secrets.

Can the lies that bind them destroy them all? 

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated. 

In a moment I may be able to catch my breath and exclaim properly how brilliant it Her Last Secret is... 

.. I may be able to exclaim over how twisty this is, and how I had absolutely no idea how everything was going to turn out, despite being completely sure...until it was clear I could be wrong. 

.. I may be able to to tell you how much I loved all the characters, but that would actually be a lie, I didn't really connect with any of them properly, but at the same time, I felt a bit sorry for them, and still wanted to see where the book was going, which is testament to the author. 

.. I may be able to give you a hint as to how I feel at the moment, but frankly I'm still opened mouthed at the finale. It was so cleverly crafted throughout, with just hints of what the outcome could be. 

.. I may be able to tell you about the characters and explain why I hated them, but to do that would be giving away spoilers. Suffice to say apart from Mouse who is 8 the rest as all caught up in their own lives. 

.. I may be able to tell you about the strength and depth of the various themes running through this story, the incredibly large topics and in the case of Ruby's situation something very relevant to teeangers today. 

.. however that is only if I can catch my breath. What I will do instead is tell you this book is compelling, unputdownable at times, and as the book progresses takes such a hold over you, that you have to continue reading.  Last of all I will say that if you are a fan of books that surprise you, then this is the book for you. 

Thank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for this copy which I have reviewed and honestly. 

No comments:

Post a comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...