Friday, 5 March 2021

Book Review - Summer on Seashell Island by Sophie Pembroke - #HolidayReading Malta

The Amazon Purchase link below is an Amazon Affiliate link.

Amazon UK

Title: Summer on Seashell Island
Author: Sophie Pembroke
Format reviewed: Ebook
Source: Netgalley
Publisher: Orion
Publication Date: 11th June 2020
Rating: 4 Stars

All you need is one summer to change your life...


Miranda Waters has always loved Seashell Island - while her brother and sister escaped it as soon as they were old enough. So when Miranda is left in charge of her parents' Lighthouse B&B for the summer, the last thing she expects is her wayward siblings showing up at the door, seeking sanctuary.

It's been years since they've all lived under the same roof. Now, they're facing a whole summer together - and a crisis for the B&B and Seashell Island. With the Lighthouse filled with people - including two imaginative nieces, a four piece folk-rock band, and an unruly llama - and a lifetime of secrets between them, can the Waters siblings work together to save their home before it's too late?

This summer it's time to discover that home really is where the heart is, and what family really means...

The perfect summer holiday romance for fans of Heidi Swain, Phillipa Ashley and Sarah Morgan

I really enjoyed my trip to Seashell Island and getting to know the Walters siblings. 

All three of them are back on the island for the summer, they are all at crossroads in their lives and it was really enjoyable seeing how they dealt with their personal dilemmas while at the same time trying to get the Lighthouse B&B up and running again for the summer, after their parents have gone away for longer than anticipated. 

Miranda, Leo and Juliet are all really different and have never really had the picture perfect family dynamic, but with their parents AWOL, it's up to them to band together and become a family again. 

We see Leo attempting to be a better father to his kids Mia and Abbie. We see Juliet who has always sworn never to return to Seashell Island for any length of time, really starting to discover her childhood home in a new light.  Whereas Miranda well she has just lost her job and fiancée, and is starting to realise that maybe she doesn't need to stay on the island forever and ever. 

Add in one fabulous llama, a close knit community and a really good story, and you have an enjoyable summer read that had me smiling and just having a good time reading it. 

Thank you to Orion and Netgalley for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily. 

No comments:

Post a comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...