Friday, 14 February 2020

Book Review - Coming Home to Merriment Bay by Emily Harvale - #HolidayReading Mexico

The Amazon Purchase link below is an Amazon Affiliate link.
Amazon UK
Title: Coming Home to Merriment Bay
Author: Emily Harvale
Format reviewed: Ebook
Source: Author supplied copy
Publisher: Crescent Gate Publishing
Publication Date: 16th December 2019
Rating: 5 Stars

This novel was originally a four-part, serial. This is all four parts and forms Book 1 in the Merriment Bay series. If you have read the four-part serial, you have read this book.

Cat Devon left Merriment Bay eighteen years ago with her baby daughter, Kyra. Now a letter from Cat’s estranged mum has brought them back.

Cat has tried to forget her heartbreaking past and forgive her mum, Mary and her gran, Viola. But nothing seems to have changed and Mary still insists on keeping secrets.

Sitting beside Viola’s hospital bed, isn’t exactly fun, so when Cat and Kyra stumble on a faded photo of an RAF pilot and a pile of unopened letters in a trunk in Viola’s room, they decide to find out who he is and what he meant to Viola.

Amias Wells, who owns Bay Water Sports but also flies a vintage Spitfire for the Merriment Bay WWII Museum, is the perfect man to ask. Except Cat and Amias haven’t spoken since the accident that killed his friend and left Cat scarred, eighteen years ago. Sparks fly when they meet again.

But Amias traces Bailey Mitchell, who lives thousands of miles away and is almost ninety-eight. Exchanging Christmas cards leads to revelations Cat had not expected. Then a surprise visitor means Cat’s Christmas takes a delightful turn. Now she’s facing choices she never thought she’d have to make.

When distressing events end more than one person’s dream, Cat realises what – and who – she wants. As Merriment Bay prepares to toast in the New Year, can Cat finally put the past where it belongs and find the love she deserves?

This is the complete book of Coming Home to Merriment Bay, which is also sold in four parts: Part One: A Reunion. Part Two: Sparks Fly. Part Three: Christmas. Part Four: Starry Skies. If you have read the four parts then you have read this book.

Dear Emily Harvale, 

I'm honestly not sure you could have packed more drama, emotion, highs and lows into such a fantastic story if you tried. 

I literally can't wait to be back in Merriment Bay and Wyntersleap for your next books. 

Please write faster



If I was the sort of person to write fangirly emails to authors that is certainly what I would be writing about this book. 

As it is I'm attempting to write a review but all I really want to say is...

If you are an Emily Harvale fan, get this onto your bookshelf now and read it asap!! You won't be disappointed. 

And if you have never read an Emily Harvale book before, but love romance, drama,  stories that literally grip you and keep you reading on, with well thought out characters, and everyone feeling very realistic, then you are missing out on a fabulous author, and I'd highly recommend changing things and starting with this one. 

There were many times where I wanted to bash the characters heads in with a big big rock, as if only they would talk about their real feelings to each other, so much could have been avoided... but then the book would have been dull, so probably a good thing it's written like this, as it is fabulous. 

There are family secrets galore, old loves, new loves, shady characters, and interactions between Amias and his sister Natalia providing amusement, and so so much more besides. 

I'm so happy that I read this combined version, as I would have gone slightly bonkers waiting for each of these original novellas, as they are so good. 

If you are in any doubts as to whether I absolutely adored this or not...  well I did and I suspect you might too.   

Thank you to the author for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...