Friday, 23 April 2021

Book Review - Lessons by Jenny Colgan

 The Amazon Purchase link below is an Amazon Affiliate link.

Amazon UK

Title: Lessons 
Author: Jenny Colgan
Format reviewed: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Publisher: Sphere
Publication Date: 3rd September 2020
Rating: 5 Stars

Lessons is the third novel in Jenny Colgan's beloved Maggie Adair series.

As the summer holidays start, scandal hits Downey House. The attraction between Maggie Adair, the fiery, committed English teacher at Downey House and David McDonald, a teacher at the local boys' school, has escalated - and now both are facing an uncertain future.

The girls of Downey House - mercurial Fliss, glamorous Alice and shy, dependable Simone - are facing long summers at home. But the new term is not far away - and it will bring new pupils and lots of fresh new challenges . . .

It feels like forever since I read Class and Rules the first two books in the Maggie Adair series, thus is took me a small while to get back into the swing of things. 

Before long though the halls of Downey House were as familiar as ever, the girls in the third form felt familiar and I was thoroughly enjoying all the antics that went on in this school year. 

With it starting just shortly after book 2's cliff hanger ending, we are catapulted back into Maggie's personal dilemma, and with the old fashioned values at both Downey House and Downey Boys for David, it soon became apparent nothing would ever be simple. 

While mentioning cliff hangers, come on Jenny Colgan give us the fourth form already, I NEED to know what happens after the last page of this one! 

This really does have the Malory Towers for adults vibe to it, it felt reading it just how I did, when I read Malory Towers as a child, as I've always love a boarding school story.  This is just such a fabulous book and I loved everything about it. 

Of course it is bang up to date and it does tackle issues that are likely to common in schools everywhere nowadays.  I also enjoyed seeing what was doing on with David and just how he is getting on after the rather shaky incident at the start of the book. 

Originally published in 3 parts, I read this lovely combined paperback which meant I could just devour the whole of the school year in pretty much one sitting.  I love a Jenny Colgan book and this was another excellent addition to the series and I look forward to hopefully seeing a full set of 6 books just like Malory Towers one day for this series. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...