Monday, 19 April 2021

Book Review - The Ticklemore Tattler by Liz Davies

 The Amazon Purchase link below is an Amazon Affiliate link.

Amazon UK

Title: The Ticklemore Tattler
Author: Liz Davies
Format reviewed: Ebook
Source: Author supplied Copy
Publisher: Self published
Publication Date: 31st March 2021
Rating: 4 Stars

Sometimes you have to write your own future…
The life of former journalist Juliette Seymour has been quiet and unassuming. Up until now, she’s been concentrating on running the local newspaper and raising her daughter.

But all that is about to change when Juliette is informed that the Ticklemore Tattler is to fold and that she’ll be out of a job. She begins to wonder whether she can buy the newspaper and try to make a go of it herself.

Aware that she needs some advice she contacts Oliver Pascoe, little knowing that when her old colleague re-enters her life, his help isn’t the only thing she wants him for!

As she begins to fall in love, however, what she doesn’t realise is that Oliver has something he’s keeping from her.

A gorgeously uplifting story, perfect for fans of Holly Hepburn, Heidi Swain, and Isabelle Broom.

Well I just loved this book, was so great to be back in Ticklemore, amongst some familiar characters but from a new perspective. 

For this time Juliette is our heroine,  and she is dealt a blow when she is told the Ticklemore Tattler is going to be closed.  She is the Tattler, well everything for the paper other than the owner, but it also as the the catalyst for all manner of changes in her life. 

I was kept on my toes a bit during this, and there was at least one moment where I gasped out loud as I hadn't seen something coming, not that I can tell you more or it would kind of spoil the surprise. 

This can easily be read as a standalone book as it features new main characters, but we do get to catch up the always impressive Hattie, who is a force to be reckoned with once again.  She is still a fabulous character, so if well worth reading the first book in this series just to see Hattie at her best! 

Ah yes back to Juliette's plans to see if she can buy the newspaper. I enjoyed seeing the community support, and just what ideas they were coming up with to try to save a local newspaper, given newspapers are a losing popularity continually. 

And Oliver, a blast from Juliette's past, but there is an instant connection there, and I loved the chapters from his focus, as they show all the best qualities of his character. 

This was such an enjoyable story that I was very happy to lose myself within the pages of.  I always tend to enjoy Liz Davies' books and this was no exception.  And based on the backmatter it sounds as though this won't be the last time we visit Ticklemore which has me very excited for what may be coming in the future! 

Thank you to the author for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily. 

No comments:

Post a comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...